FIFA Fever

Jana Zimmermann

Hang on for a minute...we're trying to find some more stories you might like.

Email This Story

From June 14 to July 15, 2018 the world is going to go soccer crazy again with the holding of the 21st FIFA World Cup in Russia. Out of 210 applicants, 32 nations qualified for the event which incorporates 64 matches. Sadly, the U.S. was one of the countries that didn’t make the cut, as well as Italy who has qualified every year since 1958. For the very first time though, Syria will be part of the tournament. It’s the first World Cup to be ran on two different continents: Asia and Europe. But of course, with Russia being a very controversial topic at this moment in time, the FIFA investigated whether or not the voting had been fair, and found out that Russia had bribed various people in order to secure their chances of getting selected.

Here is your guide to the groups of the World Cup 2018:

Group A: Russia, Saudi Arabia, Uruguay, Egypt

Group B: Portugal, Spain, Morocco, Iran

Group C: France, Australia, Peru, Denmark

Group D: Argentina, Iceland, Croatia, Nigeria

Group E: Brazil, Switzerland, Costa Rica, Serbia

Group F: Germany, Mexico, Sweden, South Korea

Group G: Belgium, Panama, Tunisia, England

Group H: Poland, Senegal, Colombia, Japan

Experts favor the reigning world champion, Germany, followed by France, Argentina, and Uruguay, but you should also watch out for Belgium, Portugal and England. Ministry of Telecom and Mass Communications of the Russian Federation