The Election for the Sioux Falls School District School Board

Two candidates recently faced off for a position on the Sioux Falls School District School Board due to current member Cynthia Mickelson’s term ending June 30th,2023.  123,885 people were registered to vote for the new board member. 7,469 people exercised that right and voted for a board member this year.  The results were as follows:

  5,405 votes for Dawn Marie Johnson

  2,226 votes for Brian Mattson

  20 votes for Nick Zacha (originally was running but withdrew after the deadline to remove his name)


New candidate and election winner Johnson stated the following in her acceptance speech.

“I am deeply honored and grateful for the support and trust people have shown by electing me to the Sioux Falls School District School Board,” Johnson said in an emailed statement. “This victory is not only mine. It is a victory shared with many. As the first woman of color to serve on the Sioux Falls School Board the weight and significance of that achievement is not lost on me. I am committed to working hard to fulfill the responsibilities that come with this position.”